Skip to content

A name guide to AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176-191

A plain-language comparison of AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176-191, with careful context for peptide numbering and animal, laboratory, and human findings.

Research explainer
Editorial illustration for “A name guide to AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176-191,” showing a Filipino reader examining the research context.

TL;DR

  • AOD-9604 has a precise chemical description: it contains human growth hormone residues 177–191 plus an extra tyrosine at the front.1
  • “HGH Fragment 176-191” is closely related naming, but a label alone cannot confirm the sequence, salt form, purity, or manufacturing quality of a material.2
  • Early findings came mainly from rats, mice, and isolated tissue, so their reported metabolic changes cannot be read as human outcomes.3
  • In a large 24-week human study reviewed by FDA, AOD-9604 did not show a significant weight-loss difference from placebo at the primary endpoint.4

For Filipino readers, the comparison can look like a choice between two separate ideas. The scientific record tells a more careful story: the names overlap, yet the exact wording matters.2 A numbered fragment, a modified peptide, and full human growth hormone are not automatically the same material.5 The clearest path is to begin with structure, then separate animal, laboratory, and human findings.6

Start with the peptide map

Human growth hormone is a protein, and its main 22-kDa form has 191 amino-acid residues.5 AOD-9604 is much shorter.1 It uses the C-terminal sequence numbered 177 through 191 and places another tyrosine at its N-terminal end.1 That produces a defined 16-amino-acid synthetic peptide.1

The phrase “HGH Fragment 176-191” points readers toward the same end region of the hormone.7 Still, the shorthand does not state every chemical detail.7 It cannot confirm the precise sequence, salt form, purity, or manufacturing quality of a labeled material.2 Therefore, the two names are related, but they should not be treated as automatic proof of identical composition.2 This distinction is about chemical identity, not a claim about a catalog item’s effects.1

The map tells us where the research idea began, while the added tyrosine identifies the defined peptide.1

AOD-9604 is named here only as a neutral catalog reference.

Why 176 and 177 both appear

The numbering puzzle becomes easier once the added amino acid is visible.7 Canonical descriptions define AOD-9604 as native human growth hormone residues 177–191 plus a new tyrosine at the beginning.1 In casual naming, that extra position helps explain why “176–191” appears beside “177–191.”7

However, the shorter label is not a complete structural formula.7 It does not show whether the first tyrosine is native residue 176 or an added residue before 177.7 It also says nothing about the final material’s form or analytical characterization.2 This is why names can be related without being interchangeable in every technical setting.2

When reading a paper, follow the sequence used by its authors.1 When reading a label, treat the printed nickname as a starting point rather than chemical verification.2

The residue range is useful context, but the full structural description carries the stronger identity information.7

A fragment is not full HGH

Full-length human growth hormone and AOD-9604 differ sharply in size.5 The main 22-kDa hormone form contains 191 residues, while AOD-9604 contains 16.1 AOD-9604 comes from the hormone’s C-terminal region, but that family link does not make it the intact hormone.5

This matters when research findings are summarized.5 A result involving full-length hormone cannot simply be reassigned to a short derived peptide.5 The same limit works the other way: a fragment experiment does not describe every action of the full protein.5 Reviews of growth hormone biology also note that reported smaller fragments have not all been independently confirmed.3 Differences in methods, species, and biological samples may help explain inconsistent fragment reports.3

Precise names protect readers from merging separate molecules, experiments, and conclusions.2

They also keep a finding tied to the exact substance examined by the researchers.2

Evidence map for “A name guide to AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176-191,” separating study findings, research context, and unanswered questions.
Editorial illustration for research context. It is not study data or product evidence.

What the early animal work reported

An early study gave oral AOD9604 to obese Zucker rats for 19 days.8 The treated rats gained less body weight than controls and showed increased lipolytic activity in adipose tissue.8 Those observations came from an animal model, not from people.8

A later experiment studied obese mice for 14 days.9 It reported lower body weight and body fat after chronic AOD9604 exposure.9 The researchers also used mice lacking the beta-3 adrenergic receptor to explore the pathway.9 The chronic changes seen in ordinary mice did not appear in the knockout animals, although the authors concluded that the effects were not mediated directly through that receptor.9

These studies helped shape the research hypothesis.8 They did not establish the same outcome in humans.9

Their value is narrower: they record what happened in specified rodent models under study conditions.8

Isolated tissue is another research layer

One frequently cited paper studied AOD-9401, a related synthetic growth hormone fragment.3 The work combined experiments in obese mice with tests on isolated adipose tissue from rodents and humans.3 It reported changes in lipolytic and lipogenic activity, but the human tissue was outside the body.3

That distinction separates laboratory evidence from a clinical outcome.3 Cells or tissue can reveal a signal under controlled conditions, yet they do not represent a whole person’s absorption, metabolism, or longer-term response.3 The compound name matters too.3 AOD-9401 should not be silently relabeled as AOD-9604 or as every product called HGH Fragment 176-191.3

Good evidence reading keeps three labels attached: the exact compound, the model, and the measured outcome.3

Removing any one of those labels can make a laboratory finding sound broader than its design allows.3

HGH Fragment 176-191 is named here only as a neutral catalog reference.

The large human study changed the picture

FDA’s 2024 review reconstructed a sizable human study known as OPTIONS or METAOD006.6 It enrolled 536 adults with obesity and randomized 502 participants.6 The study compared oral AOD-9604 with placebo for 24 weeks, alongside a supervised diet and exercise program.6

The primary endpoint asked whether any AOD-9604 group had significantly greater weight loss than placebo after 12 weeks.6 It did not.4 FDA reported that the 12-week difference was not significant and that development for obesity ended after this failed study.4 FDA also noted that detailed design information and preliminary efficacy results did not appear in a medical-journal publication.6

This negative human result must remain beside the earlier animal findings.4 It cannot be replaced by the more favorable laboratory narrative.8

The comparison shows why model and endpoint belong beside every headline summary of a research result.6

Safety language needs route and source

FDA summarized four oral studies in people with obesity, with 17, 36, 300, and 502 participants.10 The longest study period in that summary was 24 weeks.10 The agency highlighted limited detail, short duration, and gaps tied to other routes.10

FDA’s current compounding page adds a separate caution.11 It says compounded drugs containing AOD-9604 may pose immunogenicity risks for certain routes.11 It also flags peptide impurities and active-ingredient characterization as possible complications.11 The agency notes serious adverse events that may be associated with AOD-9604, while stating that causality is unclear.11

In December 2024, FDA recommended against adding AOD-9604 free base or acetate to the US 503A Bulks List.12 The recommendation belongs to a specific American federal compounding framework.12

It should be read as that defined policy evaluation, with the agency’s stated evidence and safety concerns attached.12

Bottom line

AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176-191 belong in the same naming conversation, but the labels carry different levels of precision.2 AOD-9604 has a defined 16-amino-acid structure based on residues 177–191 plus an added N-terminal tyrosine.1 The fragment nickname alone cannot verify an identical material.7

Research context matters just as much as naming.3 Rats, mice, and isolated tissue produced early metabolic findings.8 A large human study later missed its primary weight-loss endpoint against placebo.4 FDA’s safety discussion also emphasizes characterization, impurities, immunogenicity, and limited route-specific information.11 For Filipino readers, the sound conclusion is careful identification and faithful reporting of each model, result, and limit.2

This article is educational research context, not medical advice. Catalog links are neutral references and do not imply a treatment or human-use recommendation.

Frequently asked questions

Are AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176-191 the same thing?

The names are closely related, but they are not enough to prove identical composition.2 AOD-9604 has a defined structure: residues 177–191 of human growth hormone plus an added N-terminal tyrosine.1 A fragment label alone does not confirm sequence, form, purity, or manufacturing quality.2

Why is AOD-9604 sometimes linked with 176-191?

AOD-9604 contains 15 residues numbered 177–191 and an extra tyrosine at the front.1 That added position helps explain the informal 176–191 wording.7 Still, the shorthand does not specify whether the first residue is native number 176 or newly added before residue 177.7

Is AOD-9604 full human growth hormone?

No.5 The main 22-kDa human growth hormone form has 191 amino-acid residues, while AOD-9604 has 16.5 AOD-9604 is derived from the hormone’s C-terminal sequence, but a short fragment should not be described as equivalent to the full protein.5

What did the animal studies find?

In obese rats, 19 days of AOD9604 was linked with less body-weight gain and greater adipose-tissue lipolytic activity than control.8 In obese mice, a 14-day study reported lower body weight and body fat while using receptor-knockout animals to examine mechanism.9 Neither model established a human outcome.9

What happened in the large human study?

FDA described a 24-week study that enrolled 536 adults and randomized 502 to oral AOD-9604 or placebo with supervised diet and exercise.6 The weight-loss difference at the 12-week primary endpoint was not significant.4 FDA reported that obesity development ended after that result.4

What does FDA say about compounding concerns?

FDA says compounded drugs containing AOD-9604 may pose immunogenicity risks for certain routes.11 It also cites possible problems involving peptide impurities and active-ingredient characterization.11 Its 2024 review recommended against adding AOD-9604 free base or acetate to the federal 503A Bulks List.12

Sources

Footnotes

  1. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024; Detection and in vitro metabolism of AOD9604.. FDA chemical characterization and a laboratory analytical study. The exact chemical description is more precise than informal product nicknames. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12

  2. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024; Detection and in vitro metabolism of AOD9604.; Growth hormone: isoforms, clinical aspects and assays interference.. FDA and PubMed structural descriptions read alongside a review of growth hormone isoforms and fragments. A label alone cannot verify that two materials have identical sequence, salt form, purity, or manufacturing quality. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13

  3. Effects of oral administration of a synthetic fragment of human growth hormone on lipid metabolism.. Animal experiment plus ex vivo and in vitro adipose-tissue work. AOD-9401 is a related research fragment, not a substitute name for every AOD-9604 or HGH Fragment 176-191 material. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13

  4. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024. FDA's reconstruction of company and submitted study information. A registry description or development label cannot replace the reported negative endpoint. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  5. Detection and in vitro metabolism of AOD9604.; Growth hormone: isoforms, clinical aspects and assays interference.. Review of human growth hormone isoforms and analytical description of AOD-9604. A short derived fragment should not be described as equivalent to the intact hormone. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10

  6. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024. FDA review of the OPTIONS or METAOD006 human study. FDA noted that full study details and preliminary efficacy results did not appear to have been published in the medical literature. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8

  7. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024; Detection and in vitro metabolism of AOD9604.. Two canonical descriptions of the peptide's residue range and added amino acid. This explains the naming relationship but does not establish the identity of any particular labeled material. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10

  8. Metabolic studies of a synthetic lipolytic domain (AOD9604) of human growth hormone.. Controlled animal experiment in obese Zucker rats. This was an animal study and does not establish a human outcome. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8

  9. The effects of human GH and its lipolytic fragment (AOD9604) on lipid metabolism following chronic treatment in obese mice and beta(3)-AR knock-out mice.. Animal study comparing obese wild-type and beta-3 adrenergic receptor knockout mice. The model explored mechanism in mice, not effectiveness in people. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  10. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024. FDA summary of METAOD003, METAOD004, METAOD005, and METAOD006. The agency highlighted missing detail, short duration, and route-specific gaps, so the summary should not be treated as a complete safety determination. ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  11. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024; Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks. Current FDA compounding safety page and the agency's 2024 advisory-committee review. FDA also says serious adverse events may be associated with AOD-9604 but that causality is unclear. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  12. FDA Briefing Document: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, December 4, 2024. FDA recommendation presented to the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee in December 2024. This is a specific US compounding-policy evaluation, not a statement about Philippine access, legality, availability, or approval. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

AOD-9604 vs HGH Fragment 176-191: Key Differences | Majiko